Why do you exercise?

EnbyFitness

Boxer Pronouns: they/them
"doing grad school and getting buff"
Heyyyy it's been a while.

I'm still playing with ADHD meds, fell off exercise for a bit (my heart was racing? I'm on a different medication now lol), got back on it, and in the process realized daily check-ins weren't really my thing. But I still exercise everyday: I'm working through the Epic Arms challenge in the morning and the Zero Hero program at night.

Why do I do that?

Well, I'm studying to be a social worker and my internship is with a national suicide and crisis hot line. Between homework and taking calls, I started sitting down... a lot. Exercise not only gives me a break from sitting, but it's also a way for me to take care of myself after I've taken care of others all day. It helps me a chance both to process and to get away from some heavy social work stuff. It's also extremely good for managing my ADHD.

So, my question for the community is: What got you into exercise? And what motivates you to continue?

Henryk

Warrior Monk Posts: 73
"The truest SUCCESS is but the development of self."
As a kid I was a weakling softy, I remember reading tabloids for free stuff and one was a rubber band chest expander/exerciser by Weider so sent for it. I got a reply saying the free giveaway ran out and they sent me details for a body building course that was 6 bodyweight and one dumbbell lesson, only problem I was never disciplined to actually workout.

KHD_1628018067.jpg
CR_1562350674.jpg

Pix: my first exercise course and 15lb dumbbells 1960's.

Discipline came much later when I joined a Tai Chi school and had to memorize all the forms, solo and weapons, not the follow along groups I see today. I walked past a fitness equipment shop and remembered my early experience with them mail order courses and this time gave it a go and bought some weights and a bench.