Movement for my Mental Health

rumei

Druid from Germany
Hey everyone!
I decided to start a log to keep me motivated. I am a complete beginner and a fat person. I finished Foundations Light but it took me over 3 months because I was inconsistent. So I hope that the accountability of this thread helps me to be more consistent.
My main motivation is to help my anxiety and my mental health. My mental health is also my biggest challenge to moving regularly.

Here is what I did today:

Walking Challenge Day 1
Back & Core Day 1

I picked these two because I hoped it would help my back pain and help with my walking stamina. Unfortunately it was too difficult for me. I could barely finish the flutter kicks and my calves hurt already after 10 minutes of walking. So I have decided I will do another Level 1 programm, Baseline. Maybe I will also start with 5 Minute walks.

See you (hopefully) tomorrow!

beejubilee22

Valkyrie from Utah
Pronouns: She/Her
Welcome!! As a fellow fat person fighting to improve my mental health, the things that keep me going is remembering the confidence I get from working out, and remembering that even if all I can do some days is something small like a few calf raises while I brush my teeth, it's still progress and better than if I did nothing that day. Good luck, you got this!

rumei

Druid from Germany
Thank you everyone for your replies!
@beejubilee22 I checked out your log and felt inspired to also do Unbound as a cool down!

Today I did:

Baseline Day 1
5 minutes of walking outside
Unbound Day 1

Overall I think this is much more doable. Though I feel sillly putting on my shoes for just 5 minutes, I have to accept that this is what my calves can handle. Unbound Move 4 & 5 I also modified because my legs just wouldn't do those positions :D Mentally I felt really great today.

See you tomorrow!

rumei

Druid from Germany